How I found the link between Adventure Time and Far East Movement

Today has been a very productive day for me. I did a bit of internet sleuthing today that would make Greg Lee proud. Yup, that’s a reference to the 1991 TV series Where in the World Is Carmen Sandiego? that I just threw out there. Now you’re even more impressed, aren’t you?

Anyway, today I found a link between the amazing cartoon, Adventure Time, and the hip hop boy band, Far East Movement. I don’t really care that there is a link, but the fact that I discovered it makes me pleased as punch. Here’s how it works.

Here’s a clip from Adventure Time featuring a dancing bug. You may have seen this on a previous post. You dig that beat? It’s pretty fantastic–don’t lie. Well, would you be surprised if I told you it’s a real song?

Now here’s that same clip with the full version of that song. It’s called “She got curves you got curves” by Renard.

Take it away, Leo!

Alright, so “She got curves you got curves” actually samples that really sweet bass from a song by Dev called “Booty Bounce.” I would recommend listening to this whole song because it’s excellent. Now for the final connection! The chorus of “Like a G6” by Far East Movement is actually a sample taken straight out of Dev’s “Booty Bounce.”

Yeah, that party of the song you actually know, “Feeling so fly like a G6” and whatever is directly from “Booty Bounce.” And that’s how a song about drinking sizzurp (cough syrup mixed with sprite) is related to a cartoon featuring a boy and his magical dog.

Leave a Reply

